A great coder knows how to 'googlefu' the right questions

A great coder knows how to 'googlefu' the right questions

·

1 min read

Stop using "Can" when asking questions on google. Instead use "How" especially as a developer.

You'd be surprised at the answers you get. "How" not only saves time but also provides more resources.

I was working on an assignment the other day and found myself stumped. The example illustrated what the instructor did. He added an array to an object. Since I hadn't revisited my basics in a while, I found myself typing on google, "Can I add an object to an array? ". The answers provided from the resources were very confusing. I tried to make it work and kept getting errors.

I decided to rephrase the same question differently. "How can I add an object to an array?". I found an example that worked well with my assignment.

Can.png

To build on that knowledge, I've also started googling "Why" would I need to add "x" for "y" or "When" would I need "x" for "y". This has been providing more in-depth explanation that makes it easier to understand the concepts.

A great developer copies code they can understand.